CoreTrustSeal is governed by the Standards and Certification Board elected every three years by members of the Assembly of Reviewers. The Board is responsible for the development and maintenance of the CoreTrustSeal certification criteria and processes, and for the final approval of certifications. The Board is committed to ensuring community engagement and inclusion, transparency of processes, and the availability of a certification open to any appropriate data repository.

CoreTrustSeal Board 2018–2021

The term of this Board ended July 31, 2021


  1. Chair—Jonas Recker (GESIS-Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences, Germany)
  2. Vice-chair—Herve L’Hours (UK Data Archive, United Kingdom)
  3. Secretary—Mari Kleemola (Finnish Social Science Data Archive, Finland)
  4. Treasurer—Ingrid Dillo (Data Archiving and Networked Services, The Netherlands)


  1. Jonathan Crabtree (Odum Institute Data Archive, USA)
  2. Robert R. Downs (CIESIN-SEDAC, Columbia University, USA)
  3. Wim Hugo (Data Archiving and Networked Services, The Netherlands)
  4. Reyna Jenkyns (Ocean Networks Canada, Canada)
  5. Dawei Lin (ImmPort Repository, DAIT-NIAID-NIH, USA)
  6. Mustapha Mokrane (Data Archiving and Networked Services, The Netherlands)
  7. Paul Trilsbeek (Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, The Netherlands)
  8. John Faundeen (USGS EROS Centre, USA) – June 2019

Ex officio

  • Rorie Edmunds (World Data System) – March 2021
  • Lindsay Callaghan (South African Environmental Observation Network)
  • Ilona von Stein (Data Archiving and Networked Services)